top of page
Search
  • Christine

Brain Shifts

"And at last I see the light

And it's like the sky is new

And it's warm and real and bright

And the world has somehow shifted..."



No, I didn't go on a magical boat ride surrounded by romantic lanterns...but the world did shift. And not in the fun way.


Have you ever been minding your own business, doing whatever, when suddenly, the weirdest sensation comes into your brain? Everything literally seems to shift an inch or two. It reminds me of the animations you'll see in some videos or games where everything just elongates for a moment before falling into place. Or like a ship jumping to hyperspace where everything slows and the stars stretch out before the ship jumps out of site.


That happened to me this morning. I was opening my chromebook to do some work in this site. I'd just finished my morning oatmeal and was looking forward to getting some work done in the few moments I had. That's when the shift happened. Just a split second of everything being off before returning to normal. Oh, and for those of you who don't have brain issues, the shift isn't physical. Meaning, I can't see it. The description above is just trying to describe the sensation. I don't actually see everything stretching out, I just feel it. It is wild!


The shifts used to alarm me quite a bit the first few times they happened. Kind of like a "What the heck was that? Did I just cross into an alternate dimension?" I don't know, maybe I did. Maybe our minds do travel between different dimensions. (Mandela effect, anyone?) Maybe those of us with injured neurons are the only ones who can feel it. Okay, not likely, but it's fun to think about.


Whatever the cause, I've since learned to take it as it comes. The shift isn't a sensation I get often, but it's still just as weird everything else about MS. And...maybe it IS the matrix rebooting!



Anyone else's world shift on the regular? What did you think the first time it happened?


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

Thanks for submitting!

Post: Subscribe
bottom of page